Emmy in the Key of Code

Emmy in the Key of Code

By:  Aimee Lucido

Also available in:

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER.

In a new city, at a new school, twelve-year-old Emmy has never felt more out of tune. Things start to look up when she takes her first coding class, unexpectedly connecting with the material—and Abigail, a new friend—through a shared language: music. But when Emmy gets bad news about their computer teacher, and finds out Abigail isn’t being entirely honest about their friendship, she feels like her new life is screeching to a halt. Despite these obstacles, Emmy is determined to prove one thing: that, for the first time ever, she isn’t a wrong note, but a musician in the world's most beautiful symphony.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358040828

  • ISBN-10: 0358040825

  • Pages: 416

  • Price: $16.99

  • Publication Date: 09/24/2019

  • Carton Quantity: 24

  • Age(s): 10,11,12

  • Grade(s): 5-7

Aimee Lucido
Author

Aimee Lucido

Aimee Lucido is a software engineer and diversity advocate at Uber and a graduate of Hamline's MFAC program. Women in technology is a subject close to her heart, and she brings this passion to the page. In her spare time, she does musical improv and writes crossword puzzles. She lives in San Francisco, CA.
Learn More
  • reviews

    ? "As Emmy learns Java, the language and structure of programming seep into her poems. Music and code interweave…. and readers will cheer to see them work collectively…to create something beautiful.”—Kirkus, STARRED review 

     

    "Music, coding, strong female techie role models—this engaging first novel should attract a wide audience."—Booklist 

     

    "This timely debut...champions girls in STEM and delivers a positive message about being 'always exactly yourself'....Through the author’s creative mesh of coding, music, poetry, and narrative, this story uniquely conveys the art and beauty that can be found in multiple disciplines.... relatable and relevant." —Publishers Weekly 

     

    "This unusual tale seamlessly weaves basic computer coding concepts into a compelling story about middle schoolers struggling to forge their own identities in spite of the expectations of their families and society."—School Library Journal

  • excerpts

    California Dreaming

          I’d never visited California before we moved here 

          but I’d heard about it 

          in songs.

          Mom even made a playlist 

          and she and Dad sang along 

          the whole drive over from Wisconsin 

          but even after three days straight of 

             Katy Perry 

             the Beach Boys 

             the Mamas & the Papas 

          I still didn’t believe it. 

          Why would people here be different 

          than anywhere else?

          But now that I’m here 

          on the first day of sixth grade at my new school 

          the hallway is full of kids 

          tapping on cell phones that probably cost more 

          than an entire month’s rent 

          in our new house.

          Plus 

          everyone looks like they just jumped off the cover 

          of a magazine. 

          Hipster glasses 

          jeans where the only holes 

          were put there on purpose 

          and everyone pulling out a reusable container 

          full of weird grains 

          that must be their lunch.

          I tug down my Packers hoodie 

          because it’s colder here 

          than the Beach Boys promised 

          and this way no one can see 

          that I look nothing like 

          the cover of 

          a magazine.

          I wish San Francisco 

          would go back 

          to just being 

          a song.

    Pretending

          As I walk down the hallway 

          I head-hum my favorite walking song. 

          Beethoven’s Minuet in G. 

             dum dee dum dee dum dee dum dee dum

          I move andante 

          matching my steps to the beat 

             left, and right, and left, and right, and left

          so I can pretend 

          I’m not at all sore 

          from climbing up the hill in front of the school. 

             left, and right, and left, and right, and left

          I can pretend I’ve been hiking it my whole life. 

             left, and right, and left, and right, and left 

     

          I can pretend I don’t smell like Wisconsin 

          and that I wore the right clothes to school today 

          and that I’m going to make tons of friends 

          and have an amazing year 

             left, and right, and left, and right, and left 

     

          just like everyone else.

    Locker Number 538

          Finally I reach my locker 

             12 clockwise 

             32 counterclockwise 

             8 clockwise

             Stuck.

    Attempted Duet No. 1

          “Hi, I’m new here. My name is–”

             “That’s my locker.”

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358040828

  • ISBN-10: 0358040825

  • Pages: 416

  • Price: $16.99

  • Publication Date: 09/24/2019

  • Carton Quantity: 24

  • Age(s): 10,11,12

  • Grade(s): 5-7

Want the latest...

on all things Children's Books?