Punch Me Up to the Gods: A Memoir

Punch Me Up to the Gods: A Memoir

By:  Brian Broome

Also available in:

A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS' PICK • A TODAY SUMMER READING LIST PICK • AN ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY BEST DEBUT OF SUMMER PICK • A PEOPLE BEST BOOK OF SUMMER PICK

A poetic and raw coming-of-age memoir about Blackness, masculinity, and addiction

Punch Me Up to the Gods obliterates what we thought were the limitations of not just the American memoir, but the possibilities of the American paragraph. I’m not sure a book has ever had me sobbing, punching the air, dying of laughter, and needing to write as much as Brian Broome’s staggering debut. This sh*t is special.”

—Kiese Laymon, New York Times bestselling author of Heavy

Punch Me Up to the Gods is some of the finest writing I have ever encountered and one of the most electrifying, powerful, simply spectacular memoirs I—or you—have ever read. And you will read it; you must read it. It contains everything we all crave so deeply: truth, soul, brilliance, grace. It is a masterpiece of a memoir and Brian Broome should win the Pulitzer Prize for writing it. I am in absolute awe and you will be, too.”

—Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors

Punch Me Up to the Gods introduces a powerful new talent in Brian Broome, whose early years growing up in Ohio as a dark-skinned Black boy harboring crushes on other boys propel forward this gorgeous, aching, and unforgettable debut. Brian’s recounting of his experiences—in all their cringe-worthy, hilarious, and heartbreaking glory—reveal a perpetual outsider awkwardly squirming to find his way in. Indiscriminate sex and escalating drug use help to soothe his hurt, young psyche, usually to uproarious and devastating effect. A no-nonsense mother and broken father play crucial roles in our misfit’s origin story. But it is Brian’s voice in the retelling that shows the true depth of vulnerability for young Black boys that is often quietly near to bursting at the seams.

Cleverly framed around Gwendolyn Brooks’s poem “We Real Cool,” the iconic and loving ode to Black boyhood, Punch Me Up to the Gods is at once playful, poignant, and wholly original. Broome’s writing brims with swagger and sensitivity, bringing an exquisite and fresh voice to ongoing cultural conversations about Blackness in America.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: eBook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358439110

  • ISBN-10: 0358439116

  • Pages: 272

  • Price: $14.99

  • Publication Date: 05/18/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 1

Brian Broome
Author

Brian Broome

BRIAN BROOME, a poet and screenwriter, is K. Leroy Irvis Fellow and instructor in the writing program at the University of Pittsburgh, where he is pursuing an MFA. He has been a finalist in The Moth storytelling competition and won the grand prize in Carnegie Mellon University's Martin Luther King Jr. Writing Awards. He also won a VANN Award from the Pittsburgh Black Media Federation for journalism in 2019. He lives in Pittsburgh.    
Learn More
Y
Introduction by

Yona Harvey

Yona Harvey is an American poet and recipient of the the Kate Tufts Discovery Award for her first poetry collection, Hemming the Water.  Her second poetry collection, You Don't Have to Go to Mars for Love, is forthcoming from Four Way Books in September 2020.  She is among the first Black women to write for Marvel Comics since the company's founding in 1939 and the first Black woman to write for the Marvel character Storm.  She won the inaugural Lucille Clifton Legacy Award in poetry from St. Mary's College of Maryland and teaches in the Writing Program at the University of Pittsburgh.  She facilitates creative writing workshops, delivers writing-specific speaker topics, and is at work on her first memoir.  She currently serves on the editorial board of Poetry Daily.  
Learn More
  • reviews

    One of Lithub's Most Anticipated Books of 2021 

    One of BuzzFeed's 75 Books to Add to Your 2021 TBR List 

    One of The Temper's 12 Recovery Memoirs You Need to Read  

    One of BookRiot's 6 Stunning LBGTQ+ Books from Debut Authors to Read in 2021  

    One of Bustle's 51 Best Debuts for Spring 

    One of Beyond the Bookends' 75 Books for Spring  

    One of Shondaland’s 5 Best Books for May 

    One of Chicago Review of Books’ 12 Must Read Books for May 

    One of Entertainment Weekly's 20 Best New Books to Read in May 

    One of Saturday Evening Post's 10 Books to Enjoy This Spring  

     

    Punch Me Up to the Gods feels like a gift. There will come a day when some Black child . . . will have read Broome’s masterwork and possibly commit to staying alive because of Broome’s words. They will tell him that Punch Me Up to the Gods is a testament to the insurgent and ineradicable power of Black queer being. That it reveals that Black queer men are our own best creations.” 

    —New York Times Book Review 

     

    “This devastatingly beautiful memoir about growing up Black and gay in rural Ohio introduces a major literary talent in Broome." 

    —Entertainment Weekly  

     

    “This hard-hitting, unflinching memoir recounts the horrors of addiction, racism, and homophobia—and how one man survived them all.” 

    —Saturday Evening Post 

     

    “Broome’s debut tells of growing up Black, gay, and poor in a country that values none of those things. Taking his titles from Gwendolyn Brooks’s ‘We Real Cool,’ Broome’s writing, even when recalling the roughest experiences, is rich and satisfying, often funny, and always alive.” 

    Boston Globe 

     

    “Brian Broome has penned a powerful, emotional memoir about his experience growing up as a sensitive, dark-skinned Black boy in rural Ohio . . . this memoir stands in its own unique lane, strong and true” 

    Shondaland 

     

    “An electrifying read. Vulnerable and poetic but filled with a ferocious fire, it grabs you from the first page to the last. Perfect for fans of Sarah Broom, Kiese Laymon, and Barry Jenkins’s Moonlight.” 

    Chicago Review of Books 

     

    “Broome's powerful, sharp-edged memoir, often equal parts horrifying and bleakly funny, is made up of essays focusing on key moments in his life.” 

    Columbus Dispatch

    “Broome debuts with a magnificent and harrowing memoir that digs into the traumas of growing up Black and gay in Ohio in the late 1970s and early ’80s . . . There are no easy victims or villains in Broome’s painful, urgent telling—his testimony rings out as a searing critique of soul-crushing systems and stereotypes.” 

    Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

    “An engrossing memoir about growing up Black and gay and finding a place in the world. Structured around Gwendolyn Brooks’ poem "We Real Cool,” Broome’s thought-provoking, emotional journey unfolds through a clever use of parallel stories and juxtaposition . . . Beautifully written, this examination of what it means to be Black and gay in America is a must-read. A stellar debut memoir.” 

    Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

    “Bursting at the seams with raw power . . . Broome is a debut author, but you wouldn’t know it by his writing. He commands his story and readers’ attention in a way that will have them laughing, crying, and screaming along with him . . . Punch Me Up to the Gods is an exquisite and important memoir.” 

    Library JournalStarred Review 

     

    “In his thoroughly electric debut, PUNCH ME UP TO THE GODS, Brian Broome will shatter your heart. Then make you laugh, sweat and cringe. And—all while eviscerating stereotypes and expanding notions of Black masculinity and queer identity—he'll shatter your heart again, then carefully, exquisitely, piece it back together.” 

    Shelf Awareness, Starred Review  

     

    “With conscious nods to Gwendolyn Brooks, Punch Me Up to the Gods is a stunning introduction to a new literary star on the rise.” 

    Bustle 

     

    Punch Me Up to the Gods obliterates what we thought were the limitations of not just the American memoir, but the possibilities of the American paragraph. I’m not sure a book has ever had me sobbing, punching the air, dying of laughter, and needing to write as much as Brian Broome’s staggering debut. This sh*t is special.” 

    —Kiese Laymon, New York Times best-selling author of Heavy 

     

    Punch Me Up to the Gods is some of the finest writing I have ever encountered and one of the most electrifying, powerful, simply spectacular memoirs I—or you—have ever read. And you will read it; you must read it. It contains everything we all crave so deeply: truth, soul, brilliance, grace. It is a masterpiece of a memoir and Brian Broome should win the Pulitzer Prize for writing it. I am in absolute awe and you will be, too.” 

    —Augusten Burroughs, New York Times best-selling author of Running with Scissors 

     

    “This book is light forged from darkness, in the way that James Baldwin’s writing is or in the way that Barry Jenkins’s Moonlight is but also in a way that is singular and vivid and wholly original. Brian Broome writes about the ‘real America’ we hear about so often—steel towns full of the forgotten working class—and the real America we rarely hear about—the Black folks, the queer folks, the Others in those spaces that push back against a narrative hellbent on erasing them. Punch Me Up to the Gods is furious and dazzling, poetic and gritty. It is vital for every type of reader and a gift to every reader who has had to fight to affirm their existence in this country.” 

    —R. Eric Thomas, national best-selling author of Here for It and Reclaiming Her Time 

     

    Punch Me Up to the Gods feels like a scream at the end of a summit. It’s what happens when one has had to climb a mountain of -isms in the dark, abandoning training and precedent, to find a singular freedom. One separate even from the freedom sold to us in . . . well, books. But Broome has shattered every rule and has come to make a mess of what we think of as family, Blackness, sexuality, and most importantly, the memoir. With unflinching honesty, he delivers a necessary testament of his refusal to allow the strangling expectations of life to rob him of his personhood. We should all hope to be this courageous, not only in our writing, but in our living.” 

    —Jason Reynolds, New York Times best-selling author of Long Way Down and Look Both Ways

    Punch Me Up to the Gods is a pain-filled tour de force of incredible beauty. The writing is

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: eBook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358439110

  • ISBN-10: 0358439116

  • Pages: 272

  • Price: $14.99

  • Publication Date: 05/18/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 1

Want the latest...

on all things Biography & Memoir?