Slime: How Algae Created Us, Plague Us, and Just Might Save Us

Slime: How Algae Created Us, Plague Us, and Just Might Save Us

by Ruth Kassinger

Also available in:

“No organisms are more important to life as we know it than algae. In Slime, Ruth Kassinger gives this under-appreciated group its due.” —Elizabeth Kolbert 

 

Say “algae” and most people think of pond scum. What they don’t know is that without algae, none of us would exist. 

 

There are as many algae on Earth as stars in the universe, and they have been essential to life on our planet for eons. Algae created the Earth we know today, with its oxygen-rich atmosphere, abundant oceans, and coral reefs. Crude oil is made of dead algae, and algae are the ancestors of all plants. Today, seaweed production is a multi-billion dollar industry, with algae hard at work to make your sushi, chocolate milk, beer, paint, toothpaste, shampoo and so much more. 

  

In Slime we’ll meet the algae innovators working toward a sustainable future: from seaweed farmers in South Korea, to scientists using it to clean the dead zones in our waterways, to the entrepreneurs fighting to bring algae fuel and plastics to market. 

  

With a multitude of lively, surprising science and history, Ruth Kassinger takes readers on an around-the-world, behind-the-scenes, and into-the-kitchen tour. Whether you thought algae was just the gunk in your fish tank or you eat seaweed with your oatmeal, Slime will delight and amaze with its stories of the good, the bad, and the up-and-coming.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: eBook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780544433151

  • ISBN-10: 0544433157

  • Pages: 304

  • Price: $14.99

  • Publication Date: 06/11/2019

  • Carton Quantity: 1

R
Author

Ruth Kassinger

RUTH KASSINGER is the author of Paradise Under Glass and A Garden of Marvels, as well as a number of award-winning science and history books for young adults. She has written for the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, Health magazine, National Geographic Explorer, and other publications. She is a frequent speaker at conservatories, arboretums, and garden clubs, and has been featured on radio shows and Voice of America.
Learn More
  • reviews

    Praise for Slime 

    “No organisms are more important to life as we know it than algae. In Slime, Ruth Kassinger gives this under-appreciated group its due. The result is engaging, occasionally icky, and deeply informative.” 

    —Elizabeth Kolbert, New York Times-bestselling author of the Pulitzer Prize-winner The Sixth Extinction 

     

    “A book full of delights and surprises. Algae are the hidden rulers of our world, giving us oxygen, food, and energy. This is a beautiful evocation of the many ways that our past and future are entangled in their emerald strands.” 

    —David George Haskell, author of The Songs of Trees and Pulitzer Prize-finalist The Forest Unseen 

     

    Slime is a revelation! Algae has the power to cool the planet, replace plastics, fuel vehicles, and feed the world. This visionary book belongs in the hands of every policy maker, business leader, and engaged citizen looking for answers to our most pressing problems. It also happens to be a delightful read in the tradition of Susan Orlean, Mary Roach, and Michael Pollan. Ruth Kassinger turns a reporter’s eye to the natural world and finds an epic narrative there, populated by dedicated scientists, intrepid chefs, and starry-eyed visionaries.” 

    —Amy Stewart, New York Times-bestselling author of The Drunken Botanist and the Kopp Sisters novels 

     

    “Ruth Kassinger is a witty and affable guide throughout this globetrotting celebration of an overlooked life form.  Reading Slime will convince you that algae deserve our respect, and even our gratitude—they are ancient, fascinating, and essential to life as we know it."  

    —Thor Hanson, author of Buzz, The Triumph of Seeds, and Feathers 

     

    "In chirpy prose chock-full of homespun metaphors...Kassinger turns an obscure subject into delightful reading...Even readers who never expected to enjoy a book about slime will find this an informative and charming primer to 'the world’s most powerful engines.'" 

    Publishers Weekly

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: eBook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780544433151

  • ISBN-10: 0544433157

  • Pages: 304

  • Price: $14.99

  • Publication Date: 06/11/2019

  • Carton Quantity: 1

Want the latest...

on all things Cooking?