Some Other Now

Some Other Now

Also available in:

This Is Us for teens, this luminous and heartbreaking contemporary novel follows a girl caught between two brothers as the three of them navigate family, loss, and love over the course of two summers. For fans of Far From the Tree, Emergency Contact, and Nina LaCour.

Before she kissed one of the Cohen boys, seventeen-year-old Jessi Rumfield knew what it was like to have a family—even if, technically, that family didn’t belong to her. She’d spent her childhood in the house next door, challenging Rowan Cohen to tennis matches while his older brother, Luke, studied in the background and Mel watched over the three like the mother Jessi always wished she had.

But then everything changed. It’s been almost a year since Jessi last visited the Cohen house. Rowan is gone. Mel is in remission and Luke hates Jessi for the role she played in breaking his family apart. Now Jessi spends her days at a dead-end summer job avoiding her real mother, who suddenly wants to play a role in Jessi's life after being absent for so long. But when Luke comes home from college, it's hard to ignore the past. And when he asks Jessi to pretend to be his girlfriend for the final months of Mel’s life, Jessi finds herself drawn back into the world of the Cohens. Everything’s changed, but Jessi can’t help wanting to be a Cohen, even if it means playing pretend for one final summer.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: eBook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358359043

  • ISBN-10: 035835904X

  • Pages: 368

  • Price: $9.99

  • Publication Date: 02/23/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 1

  • Age(s): 14,15,16

  • Grade(s): 9-12

Sarah Everett
Author

Sarah Everett

Sarah Everett is the author of No One Here is Lonely and Everyone We've Been. She remembers growing up in enchanted forests, on desert islands, and inside a magical wardrobe. She would only ever erase her memory of past karaoke performances and certain fashion choices. She lives in Alberta, Canada. www.saraheverettbooks.com Twitter: @heysaraheverett Instagram: @heysaraheverett
Learn More
  • reviews
    "This is an author to look out for."—The Nerd Daily 

     

    "Drawing a resonant, impactful journey alternating between 'Then' and 'Now,' Everett skillfully unpacks grief, guilt, and love through the lens of teens learning to navigate life’s twists and turns."—Publishers Weekly 

     

    "From the first page, Everett’s assured prose draws the reader into a world of sympathetic characters grappling with first romantic relationships and realistic family struggles."—Booklist 

     

    "Satisfying"—BCCB 

     

    "Some Other Now is stunning and romantic— the rare book that will break your heart and put it back together." —Kara Thomas, author of The Cheerleaders 

     

    "A gorgeous and lyrical novel about love, loss, family, and the ties that bind us. Every moment of Jessi's poignant story stole my heart."  —Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark 

     

    "Some Other Now is beautifully written, emotional and full of heart!" —Katie McGarry, author of Pushing the Limits series and Echoes Between Us 

     

    "Achingly emotional and gorgeously written, SOME OTHER NOW is the reminder we need that family can be more than blood. This poignant, beautiful story will resonate with readers. Despite undeniable heartbreak, these pages sparkle with hope." —Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of Firsts and All Eyes On Her  

     

    "Resonant, complex, and tender. Some Other Now is a heartbreaking and uplifting story about the family you choose and the family that chooses you." —Alexis Bass, author of Happily and Madly 

     

    "Everett's writing packs a punch that will hit readers right in the feels. Whether you're sixteen or sixty, you'll fall in love with Luke, Ro, and Jessi's story and you'll keep coming back for more.” —Ashley Woodfolk, author of When You Were Everything​ 

     

    "Sarah Everett’s SOME OTHER NOW explores intense loss, unimaginable guilt, and love’s many forms through characters who are undeniably flawed, yet wonderfully endearing. Tender, melancholic, and romantic, this book wrecked me in the best possible way." —Katy Upperman, author of How the Light Gets In, The Impossibility of Us, and Kissing Max Holden  

     

    "Tender, insightful, and beautifully written, Some Other Now is full of lyrical warmth. It's heartbreaking in the best ways." —Carlie Sorosiak, author of I, Cosmo 

     

    "Beautifully written and heart-rending. A captivating depiction of fractured family, loss, and grief." —Jenn Bennett, author of Alex, Approximately 

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • excerpts
    1THEN

    If you had asked me before the night when everything changed, I’d have said that I was family. That the Cohens were flesh and blood, as ingrained in me as every cell in my body. Not because I was as clueless about genetics as my bio teacher, Mr. Waters, seemed to think I was, but because we shared things that mattered: history, memories, secrets, and time. 

          So the evening we sat around the dining table waiting to hear Mel’s news, it didn’t even occur to me that I could be somewhere else. That it was summer and the lake was glistening and I had my own home across town. 

          I was sitting in my usual spot, across from Rowan and beside Luke, the same spot I’d occupied since Ro and I met at tennis camp when we were seven and became best friends. 

          “Pass me the salad.” Naomi, Mel’s best friend, was sitting on my right, and she tapped my wrist to get my attention. 

          Mel had gotten home from the doctor less than an hour earlier and, instead of answering the barrage of questions we threw at her, immediately insisted that we sit down to “a nice dinner.” She said we would talk after we’d eaten. One of the things I’d always loved about Mel was that she never treated me, Luke, and Ro like kids. She told us the truth and spoke to us like we were her equals. Which made the way she was acting now all the more unsettling. She was talking and laughing with Naomi, as if everything was completely normal, as if everything was fine. But it couldn’t be, could it? 

          If the doctors had given her good news, she would have just said so. 

          She had to know that the way she was dragging this out meant that there was only one conclusion we could reach: Mel was sick. 

          The kind of sick you couldn’t get over with chicken noodle soup and a warm water bottle and a couple of days spent watching Netflix in bed. 

          My stomach lurched at the thought. 

          “I need some guinea pigs for this new cupcake recipe I’m trying for the bakery,” Mel said, trying to engage us, but Ro just kept vigorously chewing, violently scraping his fork against his plate. I didn’t know it was possible to eat angrily, but he was doing it. Apparently he had even less patience for Mel’s stalling than I did. 

          Beside me, Luke was staring down at his plate, moving the food around but not really eating anything. Ever the opportunist, Sydney, the dog, was sitting primly beside Luke’s chair, and I caught him sneaking her a cooked baby carrot when he thought no one was looking. Ordinarily, the sight would have made me smile, but Luke looked so miserable it made me feel like crying. 

          Oblivious, Mel kept chattering about her new cheesecake cupcakes, her voice as raspy and as calm as ever. 

          She talks the way Billie Holiday sings. 

          I’d written those words in my journal once, many years ago, after one of the afternoons I’d spent at the Cohens’, lounging around in the living room with Mel and listening to the old jazzy songs she liked. I’d doodled hearts around the words. Honestly, most days I wasn’t sure whom I loved more: Mel or her sons. I was a little bit in love with each of them, in slightly different ways. 

          “Jessi.” Ro’s voice suddenly cut through my thoughts. “Can you come help me in the kitchen for a sec?” 

          His voice had an edge to it, but I stood and followed him out of the dining room. I wondered whether he’d come to the same conclusion I had—that something was very wrong. As soon as we were in the kitchen, I couldn’t help it, I threw my arms around him. Ro hugged me, then patted my back like he was the one comforting me. 

          His voice was a whisper when he finally spoke. “You have to go.” 

          I froze, then stepped back. “Go where?” 

          His arms dropped to his sides. “Home,” he said almost sulkily, staring at the ground. 

          It took me a moment to understand what he meant. 

          Home. As in, my home. 

          “What? Why?” I asked. 

          “Because you shouldn’t be here.” 

          I started to laugh, but then I realized Rowan wasn’t smiling. “Ro. There’s no way I’m going home before Mel tells—” 

          He didn’t let me finish. 

          “Jesus, Jessi. Do you think you live here?” he spat. “Because you don’t. This is family shit.” 

          I was speechless. I’d known the Cohens for ten years. I’d spent birthdays and Thanksgivings and Christmases with them. I was there when Buzz, their old cocker spaniel, died when we were nine. A few weeks later, when Mel brought home a box with a shivering Labrador retriever, I’d been the first to peek inside. I helped them choose the name Sydney. I was at their house the day Dr. Cohen packed his things into his SUV and backed out of the driveway, never to return. Never—not once—had any of the Cohens insinuated that I belonged anywhere other than with them. 

          “Are you serious?” I asked, my voice small. 

          He nodded, his jaw still set. He made to run his hand through his hair but stopped halfway through the motion, as if just remembering the buzz cut he’d gotten at the start of summer. 

          “Rowan, I don’t get it,” I said, starting to feel less indignant and more hurt. I felt breathless, like we’d been sparring and someone had suddenly thrust something sharp and lethal between my ribs. Had I done something wrong? This had to be Ro’s way of lashing out because of everything that was happening with his mom. Right? 

          “There’s nothing to get,” Rowan said, his voice a whisper. “Just like . . . imagine if this was your mom.” 

          He walked out of the kitchen, leaving me standing there, stunned. The last thing he said was the worst. 

          Imagine if this was your mom

          Was he fucking serious? 

          I didn’t need to imagine anything. I didn’t love Mel any less because she hadn’t given birth to me. I didn’t need to be a six-foot-one prick named Rowan Cohen to feel how devastating even the thought of a world without Mel would be. 

          I stormed back into the dining room and sat down. Beside me, Naomi was refilling her glass of water. I stole a glance at her, at the white-blond hai...

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: eBook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358359043

  • ISBN-10: 035835904X

  • Pages: 368

  • Price: $9.99

  • Publication Date: 02/23/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 1

  • Age(s): 14,15,16

  • Grade(s): 9-12

Want the latest...

on all things Teen & Young Adult?