The Deepest Breath

The Deepest Breath

By:  Meg Grehan

Also available in:

An accessible and beautifully written middle grade novel-in-verse by award-winning Irish author Meg Grehan about Stevie, a young girl reckoning with anxiety about the many things she has yet to understand—including her feelings about her friend Chloe. Perfect for fans of Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, Star Crossed, and George.

11-year-old Stevie is an avid reader and she knows a lot of things about a lot of things. But these are the things she'd like to know the most:

1. The ocean and all the things that live there and why it's so scary

2. The stars and all the constellations

3. How phones work

4. What happened to Princess Anastasia

5. Knots

Knowing things makes Stevie feel safe, powerful, and in control should anything bad happen. And with the help of her mom, she is finding the tools to manage her anxiety.

But there’s one something Stevie doesn’t know, one thing she wants to understand above everything else, and one thing she isn't quite ready to share with her mom: the fizzy feeling she gets in her chest when she looks at her friend, Chloe. What does it mean and why isn't she ready to talk about it?

In this poetic exploration of identity and anxiety, Stevie must confront her fears to find inner freedom all while discovering it is our connections with others that make us stronger.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358354758

  • ISBN-10: 0358354757

  • Pages: 192

  • Price: $16.99

  • Publication Date: 02/16/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 48

  • Age(s): 8,9,10,11,12

  • Grade(s): 3-7

M
Author

Meg Grehan

Meg Grehan is a writer originally from County Louth, but is now hiding away in Donegal in the northwest corner of Ireland, with a very ginger girlfriend, an even more ginger dog, and an undisclosed number of cats (none of whom is ginger). In 2018, she won the Eillís Dillon award from Children's Books Ireland. She is currently studying film and likes cake and rain; dislikes going outside.  Website: megcathwrites.wordpress.com Twitter & Instagram: @megcathwrites  
Learn More

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358354758

  • ISBN-10: 0358354757

  • Pages: 192

  • Price: $16.99

  • Publication Date: 02/16/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 48

  • Age(s): 8,9,10,11,12

  • Grade(s): 3-7

Want the latest...

on all things Children's Books?