Things That Grow

Things That Grow

Also available in:

After her grandmother dies, a girl travels to different gardens to scatter her ashes, learning about life and love along the way. From Love Letters advice columnist and podcast host Meredith Goldstein, this emotionally resonant novel with a touch of humor is perfect for fans of Robin Benway and Jenna Evans Welch.

When Lori’s Dorothy Parker–loving grandmother dies, Lori’s world is turned upside down. Grandma Sheryl was everything to Lori—and not just because Sheryl raised Lori when Lori’s mom got a job out of town. Now Lori’s mom is insisting on moving her away from her beloved Boston right before senior year. Desperate to stay for as long as possible, Lori insists on honoring her grandmother’s last request before she moves: to scatter Sheryl’s ashes near things that grow.

Along with her uncle Seth and Chris, best friend and love-of-her-life crush, Lori sets off on a road trip to visit her grandmother’s favorite gardens. Dodging forest bathers, scandalized volunteers, and angry homeowners, they come to terms with the shape of life after Grandma Sheryl. Saying goodbye isn’t easy, but Lori might just find a way to move forward surrounded by the people she loves.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Audiobook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358578284

  • ISBN-10: 0358578280

  • Price: $17.99

  • Publication Date: 03/09/2021

  • Age(s): 12,13,14,15,16

  • Grade(s): 7-12

Meredith Goldstein
Author

Meredith Goldstein

Meredith Goldstein has written Love Letters, The Boston Globe's relationship advice column, for more than 10 years. She also writes feature stories and hosts the Globe's popular Love Letters podcast. Meredith's books include Chemistry Lessons, The Singles, Can't Help Myself: Lessons and Confessions From a Modern Advice Columnist. Meredith was born in New Jersey, raised in Maryland, and lives in Boston with a carnival-size cotton candy machine. MeredithGoldstein.comTwitter: @MeredithGoldstein
Learn More
  • reviews
    "Never has a book about scattering ashes been so full of life! Goldstein tackles grief with a sense of humor that will make you appreciate being alive—and also haunt you with the knowledge that there are human cremains lurking in every baseball stadium ever." —Gabby Noone, best-selling author of Layoverland 

     

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Audiobook

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358578284

  • ISBN-10: 0358578280

  • Price: $17.99

  • Publication Date: 03/09/2021

  • Age(s): 12,13,14,15,16

  • Grade(s): 7-12

Want the latest...

on all things Teen & Young Adult?