Dear Treefrog

Dear Treefrog

Also available in:

Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor–winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient and They Saw a Cat.

I See You

suddenly

among the tangled green

a tiny dollop of

frog

where before

there was only leaf

. . . Are you new here too?

When a shy girl moves to a strange new home, she discovers a treefrog perched in a secret spot nearby and learns that sometimes, all it takes to connect with the people and the world around us is a little patience, a curious mind, and a willingness to see the world through a different perspective than your own. With beautiful gouache illustrations by Diana Sudyka and magical, perceptive poems from Newbery Honor–winning author Joyce Sidman, the lives of one tree frog and the girl who discovers it converge, bringing solace, courage, and joy in finding a kindred spirit.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358064763

  • ISBN-10: 0358064767

  • Pages: 40

  • Price: $17.99

  • Publication Date: 04/27/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 24

  • Age(s): 4,5,6,7

  • Grade(s): Pre-K-3

Joyce Sidman
Author

Joyce Sidman

The Newbery Honor winner and Sibert Medalist Joyce Sidman is today's foremost nature poet for children.  Accolades for her books include two Caldecott Honors, a Lee Bennet Hopkins Award, winner of the Claudia Lews Award, and many stars and best of lists.  For her award-winning body of work, she won the Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children. She lives in Wayzata, Minnesota. Visit www.joycesidman.com  
Learn More
Diana Sudyka
Illustrator

Diana Sudyka

Diana Sudyka's paintings are largely informed by a deep passion for the natural world. She has illustrated several volumes of the award-winning book series The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart and Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley, as well as the picture books Sometimes Rain by Meg Fleming, What Miss Mitchell Saw by Hayley Barrett, and How to Find a Bird by Jennifer Ward. Visit her at DianaSudyka.com.
Learn More
  • reviews
    ★ "This artful picture book seamlessly blends science, poetry, and mindfulness, encouraging little ones to get outside, slow down, and look closely at what’s around them."—Booklist, STARRED review

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358064763

  • ISBN-10: 0358064767

  • Pages: 40

  • Price: $17.99

  • Publication Date: 04/27/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 24

  • Age(s): 4,5,6,7

  • Grade(s): Pre-K-3

Want the latest...

on all things Children's Books?