Faster: How a Jewish Driver, an American Heiress, and a Legendary Car Beat Hitler's Best

Faster: How a Jewish Driver, an American Heiress, and a Legendary Car Beat Hitler's Best

By:  Neal Bascomb

Also available in:

Winner of the Motor Press Guild Best Book of the Year Award & Dean Batchelor Award for Excellence in Automotive Journalism

For fans of The Boys in the Boat and In the Garden of Beasts, a pulse-pounding tale of triumph by an improbable team of upstarts over Hitler’s fearsome Silver Arrows during the golden age of auto racing

As Nazi Germany launched its campaign of racial terror and pushed the world toward war, three unlikely heroes—a driver banned from the best European teams because of his Jewish heritage, the owner of a faltering automaker company, and the adventurous daughter of an American multimillionaire—banded together to challenge Hitler’s dominance at the Grand Prix, the apex of motorsport. Bringing to life this glamorous era and the sport that defined it, Faster chronicles one of the most inspiring, death-defying upsets of all time: a symbolic blow against the Nazis during history’s darkest hour.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Paperback

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358508120

  • ISBN-10: 0358508126

  • Pages: 368

  • Price: $16.99

  • Publication Date: 05/04/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 24

Neal Bascomb
Author

Neal Bascomb

NEAL BASCOMB is the national award–winning and New York Times best-selling author of The Winter Fortress, Hunting Eichmann, The Perfect Mile,Higher, The Nazi Hunters, and Red Mutiny, among others. A former international journalist, he is a widely recognized speaker on the subject of war and has appeared in a number of documentaries. He lives in Philadelphia. For more information, visit http://nealbascomb.com or find him on Twitter at @nealbascomb.  
Learn More
  • reviews

    Winner of the Motor Press Guild Best Book of the Year Award 

    Winner of the Motor Press Guild Dean Batchelor Award for Excellence in Automotive Journalism 

     

    “The story of the speed revolution is long and complicated, but many of its parts are amenable to heroic narration . . . money is spent and lives are lost . . . champions rise and barriers fall . . . Grandeur and grandiosity abound. It makes for the kind of history movie producers love. Neal Bascomb’s new book, Faster . . . is this kind of history . . . Like many of the cars that race through it, Faster . . . keeps a brisk pace . . . Fresh, and told in vivid detail . . . [Bascomb] describes the twists and turns of the 1930s Grand Prix races as if he’d driven the courses himself.” 

    New York Times Book Review 

     

    “[A] well-researched account of the 1938 Grand Prix in Pau, France . . . Excellent . . . [Bascomb] moves with the aplomb of an F1 driver who starts in the middle of the pack and works his way up, car by car, to take the lead . . . Exciting, fast-moving prose.” 

    Wall Street Journal 

     

    “Bascomb’s account of the improbable victory of René Dreyfus over Nazi Germany’s elite racing team has speed, depth, and poetry. Race cars . . . Nazis . . . Monaco . . . a brash heiress and taciturn underdog . . . an epic showdown in the Pyrénées. It’s hard not to fall in love with Faster, Neal Bascomb’s brisk new portrait of European auto racing on the eve of World War II . . . The season’s most exhilarating and substantive beach read . . . It’s precision-engineered for Hollywood . . . There is alchemy at work in a piece of writing that approximates the rhythms of racing. At pivotal moments, the sentences fire in escalating, compact bursts—each stalking the next like the cars crowding each other on the winding city-streets of an old-style Grand Prix . . . Bascomb’s two great strengths as a nonfiction writer are his ability to create immersive scenes and his adherence to Hemingway’s ‘show, don’t tell’ principle . . . Readers will certainly come away with an appreciation for Bascomb’s deft portraits of these dynamic personalities, and for his miraculous excavation of an entirely new story from the over-tilled soils of World War II nonfiction.” 

    National Review 

     

    “The 1938 Pau Grand Prix has all the trappings of a blockbuster Hollywood film: cars, chaos, colorful characters, a competition between good and evil—in this case France and Nazi Germany. But until Neal Bascomb . . . decided to make the race the focus of his latest book, the tale remained little-known. Now, the story . . . has come roaring to life in truly cinematic fashion.” 

    Smithsonian 

     

    “The cars had tyres with little grip, feeble brakes and no crash protection whatever. Hot oil would continuously spray over drivers, who raced in linen caps . . . excursions would often result in mutilation or immolation. Faster is the story of René Dreyfus, who flourished in this atrocious atmosphere . . . Bascomb writes with a confidence and elegance based on impressive research and experience in the field of adventures . . . There is not much glory in our world. But you will find it in Faster.” 

    Spectator 

     

    “Bascomb has re-created Europe’s motorsport subculture of the 1930s, a mix of glamour, bitter rivalries and mortal danger, against the darkening clouds of fascism. A fine stylist, the author has sketched an ensemble of intriguing characters . . . he has mastered the language of propulsion and velocity . . . [Faster is] worth the ride.” 

    —St. Louis Post-Dispatch  

     

    “This is the Seabiscuit of prewar Grand Prix racing . . . A quality read, meticulously detailed.” 

    Sports Car Market 

     

    “Racing has always been a dangerous endeavor, but in the 1930s it was incredibly dangerous—and exciting. Bascomb manages to recapture that thrill and convey it, at the same time weaving an engaging narrative and riveting characters throughout.” 

    Automobile 

     

    “If Hollywood wants to continue its love affair with motorsport movies (Ford versus Ferrari, The Art of Racing in the Rain), someone should immediately start turning Faster . . . into a screenplay . . . Faster has all the elements of a Hollywood blockbuster . . . Faster not only is the title of the book, but the way you’ll be reading as you go further into its pages . . . The book is so delightfully detailed you might wonder if Bascomb hadn’t been present to see the drama unfold.” 

    —Classic Cars Journal 

     

    Faster is a full-throttle reminder of the power of heroes to inspire us in dark times. Neal Bascomb has brought to life a gripping, expertly researched tale of an unlikely band of dreamers who risked everything to challenge evil.” 

    —Mitchell Zuckoff, New York Times best-selling author of Lost in Shangri-La and 13 Hours 

     

    “Sport, politics, and human passion collide in this sizzling ride of a book. Bringing the excitement of motor racing to life on a page is no easy task but Bascomb succeeds hugely. Rene Dreyfus’s victory over the Nazis is a victory for us all.” 

    —A. J. Baime, New York Times best-sellingauthor of Go Like Hell and The Accidental President 

     

    “Like one of the race cars Neal Bascomb so elegantly describes, Faster is a sleek hotrod of a narrative. Replete with fascinating characters, with a historic backdrop full of angst and menace, this is a David vs. Goliath story for the ages.” 

    —Nathaniel Philbrick, New York Times best-selling author of Mayflower and In the Hurricane’s Eye 

      

    “An American heiress and outcast Jewish driver team up to defy Hitler: it could be a Tarantino movie, but it really happened. Neal Bascomb brilliantly unspools their story with all the thrills, surprises, and danger of prewar Grand Prix racing. A fascinating plunge into an era when daring drivers raced fast cars beneath gathering storm clouds, Faster is a tour de force, and deserves a place on everyone’s must-read list.” 

    —Garth Stein, New York Times best-selling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain 

     

    “Neal Bascomb’s spellbinding new book does for motorsports what Seabiscuit did for horse racing and Boys in the Boat did for rowing: with a race in every chapter, every turn of the page makes your heart beat a little—yes—faster.” 

    —Sarah Rose, best-selling author of D-Day Girls 

     

    “In Faster, we hear the rumble of cars and the rumors of war. Bascomb combines a wide-ranging history of racing—the tracks and the tricks, the storied rivalries and daredevil tactics that permeated a sport that killed many a driver—with the rise of the man responsible for...

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Paperback

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358508120

  • ISBN-10: 0358508126

  • Pages: 368

  • Price: $16.99

  • Publication Date: 05/04/2021

  • Carton Quantity: 24

Want the latest...

on all things History?