Noble Wife

Noble Wife

Also available in:

In Amy Suiter Clarke’s brilliant sophomore thriller, a small Minnesota town is in turmoil as a devout Christian blogger is on trial for murdering her husband, a radical pastor’s warped evangelical beliefs have poisoned the town, and one woman’s past comes back to haunt her.

It’s been a decade since Deja Walker fled her claustrophobic hometown and the cult-like megachurch she grew up in, but now her old life seems to be in the news every day. Her former best friend—and viral Christian relationship blogger—Eve Oback is on trial for killing her husband, the man Deja once thought she herself was going to marry. Deja knows that Eve’s holier-than-thou blog persona is a fraud, but as the trial starts, it’s clear that the case against Eve is thin. No one in Boyd, Minnesota, is talking—and Deja has had enough. Even though she had sworn she would never again go back to her hometown, she is determined to do whatever it takes to see Eve Oback convicted.

Even as Deja becomes more obsessed with digging up dirt in Boyd, her certainty that she knows everything about Eve begins to fray. Her friend made their pastor’s Noble Wife philosophy a global phenomenon, becoming an evangelist for the obsessive commitment to purity and devotion to upholding the dreams of men. Deja has always assumed Eve got everything she wanted, but the more time she spends in Boyd, the less sure she is. There is a darkness in Messiah Church and radical pastor Rick Franklin’s teachings that has infected the entire town. It may very well hold the answer to what really happened to Lars—the man Deja loved—the man she might not have known at all.

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358418313

  • ISBN-10: 0358418313

  • Pages: 272

  • Price: $25.00

  • Publication Date: 04/18/2023

  • Carton Quantity: 12

Amy Suiter Clarke
Author

Amy Suiter Clarke

AMY SUITER CLARKE is the author of Girl, 11 and is a writer and communications specialist. Originally from a small town in Minnesota, she completed an undergraduate degree in theater in the Twin Cities. She then moved to London and earned an MFA in creative writing with publishing at Kingston University. She currently works for a university library in Melbourne, Australia.
Learn More
  • reviews
    “Clarke’s nuanced narrative will keep readers hooked.” 

    Publishers Weekly 

     

    Girl, 11 is a dazzlingly twisted and dark thriller with complex characters, a neo-Gothic atmosphere, and a killer that ranks with some of the most disturbing in the genre. Amy Suiter Clarke is a magnificent guide through this macabre labyrinth!”  

    —S. A. Cosby, author of Blacktop Wasteland 

     

    “Clarke knows how to get a reader’s heart hammering.” 

    —Candice Fox, international best-selling author of Crimson Lake and coauthor of Never, Never 

      

    “Amy Suiter Clarke comes out of the gate running with a confident and riveting debut perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Meg Gardiner. Girl, 11 follows the host of an investigative podcast tracking a bloodthirsty serial killer as he counts down to his youngest victim yet. I bit my nails through every twist in this pitch-perfect thrill-ride—and teared up at its commitment to honoring victims of violence everywhere.”  

    —Amy Gentry, best-selling author of Good as Gone and Bad Habits 

      

    “Delectably tense and terrifying, Girl, 11 introduces us to a dormant serial killer and the podcaster who will risk everything—even her own life—to uncover his identity. With psychological precision and electric storytelling, Amy Suiter Clarke has created a thriller that feels ripped from the headlines, her Countdown Killer becoming as real to the reader as the Golden State Killer or BTK. True crime fanatics will find their new obsession in this dark, page-turning debut.” 

    —Megan Collins, author of The Winter Sister and Behind The Red Door 

      

    Girl, 11 is a powerful, engaging debut from Amy Suiter Clarke and gives readers a memorable, genuine protagonist in Elle Castillo. Clarke crafts a tale of obsession, dark histories, and one woman’s quest to bring a terrifying killer to justice. Girl, 11 is delivered with poise, style, and cunning—making it impossible to put down.” 

    —Alex Segura, acclaimed author of Miami Midnight, Poe Dameron: Free Fall, and Blackout 

      

    “Twisty and tense! Girl, 11 is a stirring and stunning tale of secrets, saviors, and serial killers. This story stays with you long after you’ve reached the last page!” 

    —Rachel Howzell Hall, author of the critically acclaimed And Now She’s Gone, They All Fall Down, and the Detective Lou Norton series 

      

    Girl, 11 is a chilling, expertly constructed thriller that strikes the perfect balance between page-turning twists and piercing commentary on the true cost of crime. If you devoured I’ll Be Gone in the Dark, Amy Suiter Clarke’s debut is about to be your new obsession.” 

    —Layne Fargo, author of Temper and They Never Learn 

     

    “In this remarkable debut, Amy Suiter Clarke weaves together narratives from a true crime podcaster’s real life and her broadcasts as she tracks down a serial killer who may have returned after years of lying in wait. This compelling and skillfully crafted story will keep readers glued to the pages. Girl, 11 is current, twisty, and utterly irresistible!” 

    —Wendy Walker, best-selling author of Don’t Look for Me 

     

    “A masterful, heart-pounding suspense that ushers in an astonishing new voice in crime fiction.” 

    —Samantha M. Bailey, internationally best-selling author of Woman on the Edge 

     

     

Available Resources

Related Categories

  • Format: Hardcover

  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358418313

  • ISBN-10: 0358418313

  • Pages: 272

  • Price: $25.00

  • Publication Date: 04/18/2023

  • Carton Quantity: 12

Want the latest...

on all things Mystery & Suspense?